Where are you from?

This one is going to get a bit philosophical.

I get that question a lot: Where are you from?
Especially when I move to a new place and get to know a lot of new people. I should be used to it, you think, but no I’m not. It is the most bothering question to me.

Yes I can tell you which country my passport was issued of, yes I can tell where I was born, I can list all the countries I’ve visited and I can list all the countries I’ve lived in.
But where am I from?
I have no idea.

I am a mix of all the countries on that list (believe me it’s not a long one). But as someone who lived in 3 countries in the short 20 years of her life it is hard to just say the country I was born as an answer. Because I am not only that country.
If I would only say I am from there, that wouldn’t match the person I am now. Maybe the one i was before I moved away from there.

It’s not hard to say that the last 2 countries formed my character more than the country that my passport is issued of, aka my so called “the land I was born”.
And I didn’t name those countries so far (maybe you’ve read them before on the blog) but I can name them for you for further examples.

I was born in Hungary, moved to Germany when I was 12 and moved to England for almost a year at the age of 19.
And especially in England I got asked so many times where I am from.
My answer usually is: I was born in Hungary, but lived almost half of my life in Germany and now I am here.
I admit, I died a bit every time I said it.

I am not ashamed to say I am from Hungary, or to even say I am from Germany (even though that wouldn’t be 100% right) but I just don’t feel like a Hungarian or a German.

Germany has definitely formed my character more than Hungary did, but that’s just fair since I moved there at the age of 12. And I still don’t feel more German than Hungarian. And i don’t feel Hungarian at all.

An amazing German comedian said to the question “do you feel more Turkish or German?”: Mostly as a human.
and with that I can 100% agree.

So now I am adressing the person who is going to ask me this in the future: It’s not important where I am from, it’s important where I am going.

Leave a Reply

